Poets logo

Doppelganger

By: Peggy Raether

By Peggy RaetherPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Doppelganger
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

I watch you swing

through the playground of my mind,

I want to tell you that it will be easy.

As I look into your eyes so unknowing, and so kind.

I do not wish to lie,

so this is the calm before the storm

“What do you mean?”

You ask so trusting and so warm

One day it does get better, I promise that it will.

But the worst has yet to come,

and it has barely just begun.

“Don’t I look familiar?”

“A little, what’s your name?

You ask full of wonder and concern.

I’m your doppelganger as time passes you will learn.

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Peggy Raether

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.