Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Doom & Gloom

A Conversation Between Friends

By Dana CrandellPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Doom & Gloom
Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

A/N: This poem is not intended to promote (nor condemn) the consumption of alcoholic beverages.

_______________

There's something heavy in the air.

I feel it too, my friend.

An ill wind; a sense of despair.

But what does it portend?

*

I can't imagine what's to come.

Impending war, perhaps?

A possibility, old chum.

Magnetic field collapse?

*

Well, that's a bit less likely, right?

Depends on who you ask.

Okay, that's true enough, alright.

Well, who knows? Pass the flask!

*

We've prob'ly had enough, you know.

Well, what's it matter now?

I guess if it's our time to go -

Can't change it, anyhow!

...

Dude, wake up! Get the hell off me!

What happened? We get nuked?

No, man, we had a drink, or three...

Oh, yeah! And then I puked!

*

Yeah, then you passed out on my chest.

We fell - you hit your head!

And I'm not sure about the rest -

I think we might be dead!

*

Man, why is it so stinkin' hot?

And what's that sulfur smell?

Aw, crap! I think you might be right!

Yeah, buddy. This is Hell!

***

FriendshiphumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    Ha! This was fab. I just wasn’t expecting that ending. Great stuff!

  • I feel a little bit guilty for chuckling rather than feeling for these guys but, well, there's is a a naughty, slightly devilish side hiding in all of us, right? Nicely written!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 days ago

    Did not see that coming! I feel like I should have, but I didn't!

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    What a clever and funny dialogue poem! With a horror element to it too! Nicely done, Dana!

  • Well-wrought, and a ribald jest in its own right! Doom's salvation: we are doomed and saved in everything we do. Have you ever read the Neil Gaimon story "Other People"? It would resonate with this poem in some ways...

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    Drinking not into oblivion but into hell! Good one 😂

  • Hahahahahahahahaha this made me laugh! Loved your poem!

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    Did not expect that!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 days ago

    Haha! Hey there, my friend! How are you? Love this bit of dark humor!! Too good! Hope you and Pam are doing well! Did you guys make your move to Wyoming yet? Sending love to you both!

  • Joe Patterson5 days ago

    I can dig it.

  • Paul Stewart5 days ago

    Hilarious, sir. Sounds like proper drunk chatter too...and that conclusion, brilliance!

  • Real Poetic5 days ago

    Ohh noo!! Is it wrong that I chuckled a bit at the ending?? lol I feel sorry for them but it’s still pretty funny. Amazing job.

Dana CrandellWritten by Dana Crandell

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.