Poets logo

Don't Shoot

That is the Answer

By J. K. AndersonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Don't Shoot
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

To shoot or not to shoot, when I had on the blue suit.

It was a mistake. No, these feelings aren't fake.

I understand my wrong, and I deserve to be gone.

But he didn’t he was good, I was panicking, patrolling in the hood.

Someone yelled “He’s got a gun!”

I didn’t think this was where I’d be done.

Two shots to the chest.

“Bang, Bang.”

I thought I was the best.

Thought I stopped a gang.

Thought I saved all the people,

as they ran from the shot to the church steeple.

Little did I know there wasn’t a gun.

This was crazy, it wasn't fun.

When you shoot an unarmed man, just when you hop out your van.

I’m sorry, to the family and the people.

I didn’t realize it would be this lethal.

The man was good, an honor roll student.

Didn’t have a hoodie on, he was prudent.

Raised right to, a great individual.

He had a dream; it was in his visual.

Just to be shot on a misconception.

Mark another man shot with a dark complexion.

I swear it was an accident.

And I’m not for it, not another applicant.

Some stuff is just out of our control.

But I accept my punishment and the toll.

Again, I will pray for the family, and I understand why they blame me.

I have committed a crime.

Thank you for your time.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryfact or fictionart
1

About the Creator

J. K. Anderson

An author tied to the belief that Christ is YHWH. Open minded and eager to show my wild imagination to all people. I'm not a happy writer but I'm happy to write. Doing it all for fun and a distraction from reality.

Thanks for stopping by :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.