Poets logo

Don't pretend you love me - poem

Navigating the storm of betrayal & healing

By Henry PlumePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

I’ve been holding my breath

Hoping that this passes but its not like that storm that fades away

There’s scars on my heart, like someones passed

And I struggle to get up every day

Don’t pretend you know me when you left me in the dirt

Don’t pretend you love me when all you caused was hurt

And don’t say you miss me, when I know you really don’t

If you really missed me my heart wouldn’t have got broke

Four days before you said you loved me,

Two months later I’m not even healed

You cut everyone off and me,

I’m not even sure how to feel

Is it the pain the hurt the worry?

Your heads out of control

And I can’t be any help at all

Don’t pretend you know me when you left me in the dirt

Don’t pretend you love me when all you caused was hurt

And don’t say you miss me, when I know you really don’t

If you really missed me my heart wouldn’t have got broke

I know you really loved me and I just want you back

You grit and power can push us through this patch

I remember that we promised to work through anything

Like star gazing on the trampoline,

We always found a silver lining

sad poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Henry Plume

Writing helps me see life more clearly, I love music, running, the gym, entrepreneurship and growing as a person after pitfalls like the end of relationships. Follow me to be part of a journey of poetry, self discovery & improvement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    That ending. Wow.

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    excellent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.