Poets logo

Don't Paint A Picture Of How I Am Supposed To Be.

I can only be one person; just me.

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Don't Paint A Picture Of How I Am Supposed To Be.
Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

In your mind,

Am I supposed to be,

Tall,

Short,

Fat,

Thin,

Black,

White,

Equal,

Unequal,

Sad,

Happy,

Brainy,

Fashionable,

or,

Beautiful?

In your mind,

Am I supposed to be,

Well Behaved,

Compliant,

Submissive,

Polite,

Rude,

Moody,

Pleasant,

Soft,

Hard,

Sensitive,

Insensitive,

Perfect

Imperfect?

In my mind;

I can be all of those things,

It's called being human;

Without those traits,

I wouldn't be me.

Humans can be seen,

In photographs,

In paintings,

In Sketchings,

In Fiction,

In non-fiction,

And;

In real life.

In real life,

I am,

Real,

With feelings,

With emotions,

With quirks,

Imperfections,

My own personality.

Please, when you see me,

Don't paint a picture of,

How I am supposed to be;

For I am real,

I am not a painting,

Or a character,

Hung for all to see;

I can only be one person,

just me.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️

  • This put a smile on my face! A very powerful poem!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Beautiful!!! Love your inspirational poem!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.