Poets logo

Don't Make me Lose You Twice

for those who have lost a loved one

By Abram KimballPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I know you aren’t religious.

I'm not either.

but

all I want to do

is find god.

In the name of you.

I pretend that I'd bargain.

Offer half my life

for even a fraction of yours.

I like to pretend that I’d plead.

Beg them please.

But I know me. And you know me.

As soon as I saw their hallowed face

I'd lunge at them, pin them down.

Feral and ugly and ragged.

I'd sit on their chest.

Shouting and Screaming and Wailing.

I’d claw at their flesh.

Weak and helpless and incomprehensible.

And I'm sure they'd look me,

this pitiful devil, rotting on top of them.

Watching as seconds of theirs,

and years of ours,

pull the life from my bones.

And as the light would fade

from my withered, dried up eyes,

they'd stand up with ease

and hold me like a child.

Whispering that they know.

They know that it hurts.

But I can't find god,

and I'm terrible at bargaining,

and I don't weigh a lot,

and I doubt their words would be kind.

After all,

they're taking you from me.

So please,

Let me hold you,

Let me shout and scream and wail with you.

Until god pulls the life from your bones.

And maybe if I say please,

maybe then they’ll be kind,

and pull the life from mine as well.

heartbreaksad poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Abram Kimball

Hi there! Thank you for visiting my profile. I hope it's becuase you like something I wrote. I am fairly new to this, so critique is welcomed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.