Poets logo

Don't Be Another One

Hardcore lyricism

By Luke RyanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You did everything to get first place

Good job!

So why am I coming in second?

Too much of an imperial

My mind took a vacation for absolutely no reason

And there I was

I was laying back counting sheep

A belligerent type of fellow

I wonder about the meadow?

He didn't need me to save him from himself

I didn't need to put up no contest

I was from the belly of the beast

I was from a place where everything was never okay

Ya see me as another buddy?

Ya see me as another trophy?

I'm trying to get my head above water

But nobody wants to throw a bone for the author

Rather have to deal with the heavy metal

I know that I'm too cool

I'm too ill

I'm too skilled

I'm too much like the matrix

And you can see how I'm able to fake it

I was never supposed to be a son of a gun

I love damnation

The pain is something that I think is fun

I hope it never reflects upon my son?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Luke Ryan

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.