Poets logo

Dollar Store

Pennies for your thoughts...

By Kendall Defoe Published 11 months ago 1 min read
20
Dollar Store
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

Don't you tell me

I can't control my

Spending! It even

Tells you how much you'll spend in the name...

Remember? It's just loose change...

And all I want is a

Candy bar for lunch, and maybe

Two notebooks for my projects

(I should make sure to stock up on them)...

Oh, and this looks nice! How much is it all together?

Nineteen ninety-nine?!

I have always been prepared for the tears.

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

humorsocial commentaryperformance poetryfact or fiction
20

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Very entertaining piece! Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Enjoyed this 👌💕

  • I like your very unassuming style of writing. It creeps up on you when you least expect it. You are humorous yet serious at the same time. Very clever! great work.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    And then comes the HST... (Sorry Kendall, I'm in a very low state at the moment.)

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    It all adds up and sometimes it's best not to think about it! You have done well!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    This was great Kendal! I love the perspective of you talking to the reader, so smart and such a great acrostic! Also the picture at the end that says "pass me the money, I like to be sad"... 🤣🤣🤣 Genius!

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Ah, yes, the woes of dollar store shopping, hilarious!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    HAA ha ha. Dollar store days. People with money think it can't buy you happiness. Gimme, I will make me happy. This was hilarious my friend. That is definitely me, every time.

  • Hannah E. Aaron11 months ago

    I love this and relate to it so much (especially when seasonal and holiday products are displayed)! Dollar stores have also really stepped up their game. The Dollar Tree in my town sells DVDs?!?

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Haha, this was fun! Sad reality bomb at the end, though…everything is so expensive.

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Oh, me too! I pretty much like to be sad! But just a candy bar for lunch does not sound right...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.