Poets logo

Do you think?

We are more than you know

By T. CoxPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Do you see me all the time or sometime

Do you think about us when you see us on TV

Do you change the channel so you don’t see me

I don’t want your pity or your tears

We want to be equal as our ancestors have fought for years

Martin, Malcolm, Harriet, and Marcus

Are just a few did you learn about them at your school

We are more important than just one short month during the

coldest time of year

Then one day in a month that is shared with so many it is our Independence

But are we really free as so many think when the rest of the world sees us

struggle more than the immigrants coming from a far we are not lazy as

you are quick to point out we are smart but you make it hard for me to start

a business of my own I can only recently think of such a thing; before I

knew I had to work for you to live and survive but in my community what is

living paying bills and sitting outside while we gather trying to see how we

can make it further than our parents but a foot on our neck stops our

progress you take our men and hold them hostage the games you play are

unfair if we don’t know the rules we want a piece of the American Pie too I

have said my peace as I know what is in my heart it is not hatred but worry

for my child and future generations will they have to combat the same or

worse and be armed just to go to the corner store or grocery store so they

don’t get ambushed by a person that thinks they can be judge and jury for

so many

social commentary
1

About the Creator

T. Cox

I've been writing for years off and on poetry, fiction, and romance stories. I've decided it's now or never. You have to put your toes in the water to know the temperature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.