Poets logo

Do You Remember That Shit?

The Antidote To Feeling Jaded About Life

By AceadiaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I was going through things in my life that were absolutely amazing.

The best events. The best education. The best food.

And I was kind of going through it all like it was nothing.

My mindset was jaded, and I was taking for granted the biggest blessings in my life.

So lately I've been trying to re-appreciate things once again.

I look back to when things were shit.

When was the worst time in your life?

Because that's a beautiful contrast to how good you may have it now.

I remember a time when I was a child and had no idea what public transportation was. I couldn't go anywhere farther than a one mile walk or I was always depend on my dad.

Now I truly appreciate my one and a half hour train ride to Chicago for all the beautiful adventures and experiences it holds.

I remember a time when I had no idea how to solve any of my problems. I had no idea what to do except freak out, cry, and numb myself out because I just didn't know what the fuck to do. I thought life just showed up, and you were luck or screwed. And I got screwed.

Now I appreciate even though I'm not as far along as I hoped, I have answers, I have possibility of change, and I know in my heart (deep down somewhere because I'm still trying to figure shit out lmfao) even the biggest challenges I have I can turnaround.

I remember a time when I thought all you could do in life was to shop, eat at restaurants, hang out with people, and work.

Now I appreciate the amazing experiences I get to be a part of in Chicago. There are so many events happening all the time, endless things to do, and beautiful souls to meet and connect with everywhere. I appreciate how life is so full and abundant with more memories to be made than we can imagine.

Sometimes our lives get so blessed we forget they're blessed.

No matter what challenges I have, I can always be grateful.

Because when it feels like you have nothing... Gratitude gives you something.

How can we use the worst experiences of our past, to fully appreciate and enjoy what we're given in life now?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.