Poets logo

Do You Care Enough?

I cannot be, will not be second best.

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Do You Care Enough?
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

It is not that you do not care, because I know you do.

You just do not see what I need.

I do not need grand gestures; I do not need romantic movie moments.

I need the little things that let me know you care.

If you picked me a flower from a field I would love it ten times more than if you bought me flowers from the store.

It is in the good morning and goodnight texts, the spontaneous phone calls throughout the day, the little moments, the little things that show me you are thinking of me.

All I want is your time and affection.

I want to hear “Babe, of course let me try to make it work,” not “Maybe, if I am not doing anything else”.

I do not want to be something you use to fill your free time; I want to be something you free your time for.

I cannot be a place holder.

I cannot give my all to someone only to have them give me half back.

I cannot let my walls down for you only to have to build them twice as high after you leave.

I cannot be second best. If you have a choice between me and something else, do that something else. I do not want you to be with me, wishing you were doing something else.

I do not need to spend every second with you, but I do need to know that you care enough to put me first once in a while.

It is not a question of if you care, because I know you do, it is a question of do you care enough?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.