Poets logo

Do You Appreciate the Sweetest Things in Life?

Taste and see how sweet your life can be.

By Carmellita Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Sweet Nectar of Life" Designed by the Author (Carmellita) using Canva.com

The Sweet Nectar of Life on My Bottom Lip

I have always loved flavor--sweet and salty with a little spice.

I like music that speaks to my soul and reminds me why my eyes are deep, dark brown.

I like the scent of the air and trees and grass after a good rain—it all smells so clean.

And every once in a while, I indulge in the simple decadent guilty pleasures that nature always intended.

The fruit of life from the tree of life that gives life.

When no one is looking, I let the nectar linger on my lips just for a while.

I look around to see if anyone is watching.

I let it tingle to remind me it’s there.

It tingles sweetly.

I know it will be sweet.

I savor it.

And just when I can no longer resist its sweetness…

I gently and slowly graze the very tip of my tongue and taste the tempting nectar on my bottom lip.

"Mmm, so delicious."

Only a free mind can enjoy such abandonment.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Carmellita

A Writer, Poet, and Storyteller--"My Evolution will be digitized" through insightful stories in the digital space. I am writing for the love of writing, to share feelings, thoughts, and ideas, and to connect with other readers and writers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.