Poets logo

Do I?

I'm not myself tonight

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
9
Do I?
Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash

Sometimes I sit here with the lights off

Sometimes I sit here, and I process it all

I said I love you

You said

I'm all talk

Fine, I'll just sit here and anticipate your call

I'm not myself tonight

I don't drink that much

Do I?

Do I?

Do I?

Do I?

Sometimes I like to pretend I'm tough

Somehow you know when I'm running low on luck

I said I love you

You said

Don't rush

Fine, I'll be here anticipating your touch

I'm not myself tonight

I don't drink that much

Do I?

Do I?

Do I?

Do I?

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Frankie, as always, this is fantastic. The repetitions, the flow, the "interior monologue," etc. Have you thought of turning the poem into a spoken word piece? Or maybe it could be the beginning of a play?

  • My favourite was the repetition of Do I. Your poem was very deep and I loved it!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Profound!!! Loving it!!!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love this is so much! Do I? So poetic to repeat 🥰

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I hate to sound like a broken record, but I have to agree - the repetition really adds to this piece. Well done!

  • Rowan Finley 8 months ago

    I love the repetition for emphasis. What instruments do you play?

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Frankie! This is another stunner from you! Love the use of repetition! Could feel the emotions in every line!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.