Poets logo

Divergent Human Races

Same but Different

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Divergent Human Races
Photo by Mimipic Photography on Unsplash

I was told to keep my crown hidden

Out of sight, don't let them see

I was told certain rights and freedoms

Would never be afforded to me

-

Beaten and bruised, at the start of the end

Depleted and used all to satisfy the masses

My strength weakens, and my will starts to bend

Vision distorted by broken glasses

-

I'm fighting a battle, not of my choice

Tears streaming and scars growing deeper

Forced into silence, to relinquish my voice

All because of their hatred of a certain feature

-

Stitched into a body, a pedigree, and rooted in a soil

All of which I had absolutely no say

Plagued by wicked desires, bloodshed, and turmoil

Your words discharge, and I buckle under the weight

-

I have never understood why YOU get to chant

What makes YOU more worthy?

"This is what you can do; this is what you can't!"

Your heart shows no mercy

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.