Poets logo

Shifting Perspective

The Veil Lifts

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shifting Perspective
Photo by Helen Ngoc N. on Unsplash

I couldn't put anyone else above you

You made me both fear and love you

-

Felt myself falling, but I still couldn't stop

Somehow still felt like I was somewhere at the top

-

Your heart beat like I was to believe

It was real love that I saw you bleed

-

You flipped the script, and I couldn't follow

Looked right through me, like I was nothing but hollow

-

Was any of it real, or was it just in my head?

You seemed to love me more connected by a bed

-

You made me feel some of happy; you made me feel some of sad

Tried to please you and pretend it felt good acting a little bad

-

You cheered me on, singing praise, your plaything I became

Your smile deepened, grew sinister, signaling the start of a game

-

I adored you, worshipped at your feet, but oh

It seems you wanted to keep it just a little bit discreet, uh oh

-

Once where it had seemed we in some way completed each other

Was really just us cheating, defeating, and depleting each other

-

Yes, I am struggling; it can't be denied

But words you no longer get to say bring peace of mind

-

I would rather be free and keep it minimal

Than to have it all and feel like a criminal

-

Bittersweet memories, oh, why does my heart still ache?

When I know there's only ONE part of it all that wasn't a mistake

-

Starting to finally recognize a stronger version of myself in the mirror

Without your voice in my head, I can see a little bit clearer

-

Emotional withdrawals and writing it down is working you out of my system

No promise of pleasure to distract and pacify me just because you don't want to listen

-

All the sleepless and haunted nights became a lesson learned

Keep playing the fool and dancing with fire, and continue to get burned

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.