Poets logo

DISTRACTION

an acrostic poem

By Heather HollandPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
DISTRACTION
Photo by Ion Fet on Unsplash

Dilation drops are dispensed from a small bottle above my face and,

I blink them from the corners of my eyes as they splash against my corneas.

Someone kindly passes me a tissue,

Turns down the overhead lights, and

Retreats quietly from the exam room.

Alone in the dark with my eyes

Closed while my anxiety and my pupils grow larger,

Tapping my shoes nervously against the footrest,

Ignorance is bliss -

Opposite of fear - as the Valium kicks in.

Now comes a bright light obscuring the doctor's scalpel.

By Olga Guryanova on Unsplash

CONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Heather Holland

Heather Holland is the author of the short story "Dragonfly in Water." She also writes Simple Stories on Substack.com, and she is the main contributor to The Daily Rhyme - with Heather Holland and Special Guests.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧11 months ago

    My eyes ache just thinking about this! Well done, as always, Heather.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.