Poets logo

Distraction

from my own demise

By Emily McGuffPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3

Desperate enough to reach out for your hand,

In an attempt to stay afloat, aware of the

Suffocating void threatening to eat me whole and

Throw me up. I am no better than a

Rebel among saviors, knowing damn well my

Actions only draw me closer to the end.

Close to the question I don't want answered.

Threats of loneliness, of

Isolation keep me reaching, but I know it is

Only a matter of time before

Nothing will soothe the burning edges of me.

Above is an image of the same poem, but with the letters bolded and staggered for visual effect. Distraction is one of the best ways to mend a broken heart, so the cracks aren’t the only thing you can see.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Emily McGuff

Author of Crystalline (self-published on Amazon)

Lover of lyrics and poetry.

Obsessed with sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Wonderfully written. The emotion is so vivid. 👏🏼👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.