Poets logo

Distraction

Or is it just longing?

By Kait ThursdayPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3

Distance in eyes,

Ice in touch.

Seeing motion in the periphery,

Trapping static in the gooseflesh,

Reaching for the pull chain as the light fades.

Apprehension etching phantom scratches over brows and

Consternation weaving silver strands through dark tresses.

Tempted to bolt, to escape, to flee, to run until the chill melts away.

I know I cannot make it out alive,

Only wither and shrink and decay and fertilize the next generation.

“Now get back to work,” I say to myself, “line a rich man’s pocket.”

artsocial commentarysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Kait Thursday

I'm a poet and a novelist, but my friends call me a starving artist. I've been writing for twenty years and have no plans to stop. I post new content to Vocal every month, but I have ADHD, so remind me if I forget.

WordPress

Amazon

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT WORK 💜🌞😀❤️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Amazing job well done! 👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.