Poets logo

Distance

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 19 days ago 1 min read

Everything I thought we were was a lie you used to keep me around.

I was your weapon against all that did you wrong and when I was of no use anymore, you separated yourself enough to make the distance noticeable.

Every paragraph and excited note turned into

one.

word.

answers.

or short sentences,

the passionate person I once knew was no longer in existence,

and I am the fool.

It pains me everyday thinking I did something wrong, but it was all just a twisted game for you.

I won't play, but I will match your energy,

just long enough for you to notice,

and when you finally ask those three forbidden words,

are you ok?

you will be met with the same response you have given me,

just tired.

It's not a lie, I am tired,

of pretending to be okay with everything that has changed.

I refuse to be made to feel this way again and repeat history,

I deserved better before you and I still do after you.

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    This was so emotional and relatable. Loved your poem!

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.