Poets logo

Dismantled Perhaps

A Short Film Based on Poetry

By Meri UtkovskaPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
Watch “Dismantled Perhaps”, my latest short film based on the poem by the same name.

Dismantled Perhaps’

The sounds of the broom’s mouth

Old and choking with dust rise from

The ground as they’d been what hot air is

Sometimes (before all this)

Before I was what I am the

World was what is now not -

Robbed by our own (can you believe it?)

Both of us. Like an argument lost

By the argumentative, I wait for

Night each night. And night always comes.

I am made of a terrible amount of

Dismantled perhaps’. I contradict even

My belief in my own contradictions. Before

I was what I am I feared the madness with

Which I loved. It only took a lifetime for

Me to realize that I must love madly, for

Love maddened by its madness’ intensity

Is the only love I know to be real — the heart,

Torn at the seams burns burns burns like money.

I burn.

Everything in me is made of water -salt

Water taken from the primordial sea. I rise

With all my waves -flooding buildings, houses,

Eyes, ears, lungs, spleens, roads,

Valleys — treacherous and beautiful. Before

I was what I am the Moon was but another

Insignificant thing. Now, vigilant, both of us,

Of earth’s intricacy. Both of us. Like forgiveness

Lost by the one who forgives, I welcome

Bitterness. And I smear a little honey on the places

Where it settles. I am made of a terrible amount

Of dismantled parting of ways. I don’t run from them.

They’re only little children. Before

I was what I am I feared the madness with

Which I grieved. It only took the ripping Of my chest for

me to realize that I must Grieve madly, for

Grief maddened by its own intensity

Is the only love I know to be real — life,

Torn at the seams burns burns burns like money.

I burn.

Sometimes,

You can even hear me sing.

\\\

"Dismantled Perhaps" (2024) by Meri Utkovska, from her upcoming book FRACTURED PERCEPTIONS

///

BOOKS ON SALE

The hardcover edition of A RAY OF SIGH: The Eternal Circle Where You and I Reside, Meri Utkovska's first collection of poetry and photographs is now on sale.

Get your copy here:

A RAY OF SIGH: The Eternal Circle Where You and I Reside (HARDCOVER Edition)

Read more poetry on the website, and discover more short films on the Youtube Channel:

#arayofsigh #arayofsighpoetry #poetry #poetrywriting #poetrycommunity #writing #writingcommunity #contemporarypoetry #contemporarypoets #contemporarywriters #author #bookauthor #books #poetrybooks #photographybooks #englishliterature #macedonianliterature #englishwriting #macedonianwriting #englishlanguage #shortfilms #videoessays #shortmovies #independentfilms #independentauthors #independentfilmmakers

vintagesad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakFree VerseBalladart

About the Creator

Meri Utkovska

I am a writer who creates short movies based on poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Meri UtkovskaWritten by Meri Utkovska

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.