Poets logo

Disingenuous

For You to Feel as You Feel Right

By Joshua Lino-da CostaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

She called me obsequious once

Not that long ago.

A smouldering smile smacking all wind

Out of my lungs;

Breaking my charming flow.

Her golden hair turning the sun dark

And the winter warm.

Her wink, encapsulating all I stood for,

Or tried to at any rate,

Allowing my feelings to form.

Those weren’t glasses sitting on her nose

But picture frames

To show off the gems behind.

Although I did tell that to another girl once

As one of my many games.

The smile and the wink meant

Her word was surely meant in jest

Meaning I wasn’t trying to get something back

But was charming, charismatic;

The best of the best.

Her onomatopoeic grunt before

She ‘oh’ so slyly spun,

With a flash of hair and seductive wiggle

But no look back

Her vibe radiating the sun.

And later that day

When I saw her again

She smiled at me once more

And with weak knees and thumping heart

Fuelled my growing flame.

She said something

I could not catch

As the world was through my eyes

And she winked again

With charisma I could not match.

As time went by, again

I saw that seductive wiggle.

With her snide winks and flashing hair

And new virtues; strokes, jokes

A giggle

And time passed us further by

For me to know no more

But the name of Venus on earth.

So I may be obsequious.

But you, my dear, are disingenuous.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Lino-da Costa

I've been writing for years. Not always great... but it means a lot to me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.