Poets logo

Disappearing into the Fire

A Love is Lost Forever

By Tyler DelmottePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Disappearing into the Fire
Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

Dark skies hover over a field of green.

Beside a large tree, her and I stand.

With fear coursing through me, I reach for her hand.

A conflagration blazes into the sky.

From across the field, we watch it.

It burns bright, blinding us.

Moving too close would surely sear our flesh.

It calls out to us, wishing for us to join it.

Following its siren song, she makes her approach.

Like snow, ash falls upon us.

By Thomas Griesbeck on Unsplash

She averts her eyes as the flames spread.

Giving chase, I run to her.

I feel the heat on my skin as I advance.

The flames seduce her, deafening her from my call.

Stopping mere feet from the inferno, her skin reddens.

She raises her arm to the flames – can I reach her in time?

The conflagration flares outward as she enters it – engulfing her.

I fall backward onto the grass beneath my feet.

The ash continues to fall over me.

Feeling the heat dissipate, my body shivers.

By Maria P on Unsplash

Seeking her out, my eyes move about frantically.

I struggle to rise as the ground beneath me falls away.

The conflagration, smaller now, still burns bright.

Moving towards it, I see her.

Seeing her standing in the fire – smiling – makes my heart skip a beat.

I close my eyes, shutting away the world around me.

Air around me grows colder as the once blazing conflagration vanishes without a trace.

Opening my eyes, I welcome the world once again.

The once dark skies let through rays of light across the green field.

Despite the apparent peace, I know the truth.

By Liane Metzler on Unsplash

She’s not here and I stand on charred ground alone.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Delmotte

Here to post my thoughts, short stories/excerpts from screenplays and poetry.

I'm also part of a podcast:

--https://soundcloud.com/aswedigress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.