Poets logo

The Painful Mend

Effects of a Broken Heart

By Tyler DelmottePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Painful Mend
Photo by Marah Bashir on Unsplash

This fleeting love tears me asunder,

leaves me broken, and makes me wonder…

Can it be rectified?

For what could have been, my porcelain heart cracks.

Blood leaks from such cracks, as it courses through the heart.

Mending proves difficult, as the heart is left scarred and damaged.

Can it be washed away?

Lying awake, I attempt to dream.

Lamentation turns dreams into nightmares.

Dark apparitions of you haunt them.

Still, eyes remain open as sleep escapes me.

Can it be brought back?

Will it ever end, the throbbing pain in my chest?

The pain that keeps me awake?

The pain that cracked my heart?

Caused by your fleeting love, these deep wounds refuse to heal.

Can it mend my heart and mind?

Made worse by thoughts of you, my eyes fill with tears.

Red and swollen, as lost opportunities are lamented.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Delmotte

Here to post my thoughts, short stories/excerpts from screenplays and poetry.

I'm also part of a podcast:

--https://soundcloud.com/aswedigress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.