Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Dipped in Green

(mild content warning for suicide)

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Dipped in Green
Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

My fingers are dipped in green.

Paint made of the toxic sludge

Of burning hope's smoke and caffeine.

I seem to think the devil won't judge

If I can distract his wandering eyes

With a flash and a surprise.

.

It's never worked and I doubt it will

But it gives me something to do,

Some way to find some time to kill.

If I don't kill it, time will fill my heart with rue

Until there is nothing left but to sit

In the dark sorrow with a razor and...quit.

.

Because I'm hungry for the toxicity,

Starving for the simplicity

Of toxic green sludge poisoning my veins,

Colouring my ribbons red and making these chains

Rusted, useless, and dangerous on my wrists

In the same way it melts my wits.

.

My fingers are dipped in the green of some

Last ditch effort to slip away and become numb.

The grey clouds above beckon.

This coldness has turned me into a weapon

Eager to go home where the sky doesn't sing

And I'm nothing more than a dead king.

.

performance poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)9 months ago

    Great piece, Profound but beautifully written 📝 ♥️

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I'm really at a loss for words because I've been there. Many years ago, I felt that urge and to my blessing and good fortune, my young son had a nightmare and woke up. That is what changed my life around. That and nothing more. But, here I am 50 years later, still struggling but still happily hanging on.

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.