Poets logo

Dinosaurs Don't Inspire Me

But Your Poems Did!

By Shirley BelkPublished 21 days ago Updated 21 days ago 2 min read
from Facebook

I'm sorry, Vocal. I just couldn't do it. I couldn't get inspired to write a poem about dinosaurs. I just didn't have it in me. Maybe because I've always been a bit freaked out about them? And the fact that they never captured my imagination didn't help, either. Is that okay?

Maybe this is why I related to the poem by Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Angie nailed it:

And Rachel Deeming verbalized all my childhood fear in her poem, too! (But she did it so seemingly easy)

What does inspire me is seeing children playing with dinosaurs...even if I don't engage. Many of the poems I read from the submissions were about children and their dinosaur companions. Or at least poems that could be read to children for their enjoyment and joy. I especially enjoyed those reads. Like this one from Kelli Sheckler-Amsden (a Top Story):

I also learned a great deal more than I ever had ever known about dinosaurs from many inspired creators during this challenge. Bravo!

One such is this:

JBaz, who won a Top Story for his, "Evanesce," an ode to the dinosaurs, was an entry that brought some giggles in his comment section:

Shirley Belk (You)

"Maybe they haven't disappeared...maybe they just transformed into the petroleum we use today???"

"Great job on your poem, though!!!"

JBaz (Author)

"Lol, if that’s the case (and it probably is) then my Dinosaur makes my car faster than yours. 😉

Thank you very much for your witty comment it gave me a chuckle"

Raihana H.

"😂🤣 Good one! Caught me off guard and made me laugh!"

Shirley Belk (You)

"JBaz, I have a 4 cylinder...you are most likely correct...little faster than a John Deere"

I read so many creative takes on the lives and impact of dinosaurs. If I haven't mentioned yours, please forgive me. And if I haven't read yours yet, I'll try.

A poem about how dinosaurs have evolved is neatly packaged in a poem by Lizz Chambers:

Another great take on evolution, but this one a bit snarky (I would expect nothing less) as it is one from Hannah Moore:

So, for Lizz and for Hannah, I will add this picture. It made me laugh and think of their poems when I saw it:

from Facebook

Farewell to the Dinosaur Challenge...and best of luck!

listFree Verse

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • The Invisible Writer18 days ago

    What a wonderful piece and so supportive of your fellow writers great job!!

  • jameel Nawaz20 days ago

    "Beautiful content! I support you and appreciate your support for me. Together, we can achieve great things! 🌟😊"

  • John Cox20 days ago

    Great idea plugging several excellent entries to the challenge! Loved it!

  • Staringale21 days ago

    Never had an interest in Dinosaurs so never bothered learning about them but now reading this I am curious. I love the way you wrote this article it is really compelling.

  • angela hepworth21 days ago

    Haha I loved your spin on it!

  • Wow!😮 I feel honoured to be mentioned in your enjoyable story… 💜 I had missed some of these impressive poems… I love the variety & different slant they took. Thanks Shirley👍🏼

  • Rachel Deeming21 days ago

    Thanks, Shirley for the shout out. I think I missed some of these. Busy week with life outside Vocal stuff so I'm way behind on my reading.

  • Awww, so sweet of you to put these together! I think I've read all of them!

Shirley BelkWritten by Shirley Belk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.