Poets logo

Did you know,

you can make an excuse out of sidewalk cracks?

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Did you know,
Photo by Felipe Correia on Unsplash

I never stopped walking.

I wanted to treat the whole world like a delicacy,

like the houses with people inside would come out

and bury my story with theirs.

I thought progress was only meant to move forward.

I followed the same sidewalk for a whole year

until I quit watching for the cracks and uneven ground.

If you keep walking you can outrun your problems.

If you stop making eye contact,

eventually everyone will stop talking to you.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.