Poets logo

Did Anyone Invite The Sandman?

Anyone....

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Did Anyone Invite The Sandman?
Photo by Nikolay Tchaouchev on Unsplash

Ode to my favorite pillow

no, not like the one that you see on TV

As ornamental, as a weeping willow

my limbs and face, without sleep, yeah - droopy

It entices me into the bedroom

for an evening of sleeper's delight

And leaves me full of anger and gloom

holds my heads, as I lie awake, each night

It's as soft as a new casimire sweater

fits my head, like it was molded for me

I have written it so many letters

begging it to please, help me to sleep

But it just lies there, all soft and inviting

luring me each night, try again

And like magic, turns straight into concrete

closing my eyes to catch Z's, is in vain

So, I write about all the adventures

I image I'd have in my dreams

The other ones, I needed to censure

not everything is, what it seems

I've replaced it with, "party at my place"

2 AM, please, bring your own beer

It has left a design of a map on my face

but there is no party going on in here

Anyway, here's to you - my dear pillow

if it's the thought that counts, I think you're alright

I don't mean to come off as shallow

but will you please be sure, I sleep tonight

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Sweet rhyming!!! Loved this, Kelli!!!❤️❤️💕

  • How is it that a pillow that feels perfectly fine one night, seems hard as a rock the next? Sleep well, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.