Poets logo

Devotion

How can you love me?

By Grace TackettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Devotion
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Devotion

How can you love me

So deeply, so closely

When I have been so horrible to you?

When I put myself first

Instead of you

When I make decisions

And do not listen to your advice?

How do you love me

So abidingly, so encompassing,

When I am not worthy of consideration?

How do you celebrate who I am

As a person, in my actions,

When nothing but my flaws are on display?

How can you trust that he words I say

That I fling at you with no regard

To feelings, to decency

Are not the words that are meant?

The strength of you love,

Your devotion

Leaves me in awe,

Raises my standards

Until I am ruined for all

But you.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.