Poets logo

Desk Escape

A hilarious Ode to Office Leave

By π”–π”žπ”«π”‘π”₯𝔲Published 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
2
Photo from Pexel

In my cubicle, I sadly sit,

With paperwork stacked, a towering pit.

My boss is grumpy, the workload immense,

I dream of a break, it just makes sense.

I want a leave, a day or a week,

To escape this office, so dull and bleak.

I'll trade my tie for a beachside view,

No more meetings or memos, that's what I'll do.

I'll send an email, so polite and neat,

"Dear boss, I need a leave, a little retreat.

I promise I'll return, all fresh and tan,

Ready to work harder, a superhuman fan."

I'll pack my bags with swim trunks and shades,

Leave behind the spreadsheets and endless parades.

I'll sip on a coconut, relax on the sand,

No deadlines to meet, just peace in my hand.

But back in the office, reality's stark,

My inbox is full, a looming shark.

So I'll keep on dreaming, and work through the day,

Hoping that leave will come my way someday.

For now, I'll stay strong, my desk my abode,

Though I'd trade it for a hammock by the seashore, I'm told.

So here's to the office, a place I can't flee,

But I'll keep on working and dream of being free!

social commentaryhumor
2

About the Creator

π”–π”žπ”«π”‘π”₯𝔲

Exploring the world, Capturing Moment, Sharing Stories and Inspiring Adventures

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.