Poets logo

Demon Hunter

A long night

By Jacob Nathaniel family of Murray Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
Demon Hunter
Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash

Rising once again, from this ground stained with blood.

Dagger in soul.

The bitter cold wind cuts to the bone, and reminds me of what I've lost.

This dark night has taken hold of me and won't let me rest.

I carry my broken spirit and bruised body up this long dangerous path.

I think I see a glimpse of light.

My sword hanging heavy in hand, drags tip on the ground.

I dare not put it away.

The beasts in the chasm howl for my soul, rattling the bones of the fallen.

I'm tired and weary, no sleep in soul.

But I must Carry on.

I can see the sunlight! I push on harder.

I can feel a small fire begin in my bones.

As I reach for the day, I can feel the wretched claws of the night losing their hold.

My last strength given, I collapse in the sun.

I can feel the dagger vanish away, like ash and smoke in the wind.

The wound remains, but it will heal.

I will rest in this moment, a moment of truth.

I have not lost what I thought.

My time here is all too short, but 'tis sufficient.

I rise to my feet, with an ache in my soul, but gratitude in my spirit.

Gratitude for the strength that returns to my bones.

I grasp the hilt of my sword, the gift of my King.

Onword!

The spirit in me calls.

I hear a voice, calling in the dark, deep in the valley I am yet to enter.

Her voice is familiar, I have followed it from valley to valley.

I fear she has followed the valley floor, and has forgotten the warmth of the sun.

A.J.P.

September 16 2021

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Jacob Nathaniel family of Murray

Hello!

I am an aspiring author and poet.

I right fiction and allegory, painting the world as I see it with raw emotion.

I seek to inspire, provoke thought, but never to judge, I only tell of my personal experience, and perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.