Poets logo

Defy

I welcome you home babe

By Anna TorresPublished 11 months ago Updated 3 days ago 1 min read
Like
Defy
Photo by aranprime on Unsplash

I let you walk all over me but these wounds are superficial. With hostility to match your ego, I name you artificial. Don’t be so shocked when I nail you to the cross, babe. This ugly obsession is a mystery that will not fade. These angel wings will not fly me to safety. Your Mercury cures live only to plague me. These medications don’t heal your arrogance. With your abundance of bitterness, there’s so much I can’t rival against. Let me take you down a notch or two, honey. Come back down to earth and see what I see. Let me crawl all over your crooked stones and rocks, dear. I’ll meet you where our future disconnects and the end is near. Hold back your tears as the nails penetrate your wrists, my love. I want your fear as you face your agony from above. Why did we sign up for this wretched insanity? I can’t imagine a more hollow existence than the one we are living. All the hurt you caused was all the pain I took. All the hysteria you created matched the faults I overlooked. Beware the curse of the cross and the nails that bear your name. There’s a spot on the very bed where we were one and the same. I learned that there is no universe for us anymore. I wanted to break free but you just wanted it more. I come in close enough for the nails to kill. I wanted you all to myself but now I’ve had my fill. My love, my dear, my husband, my hate. There is no us anymore, there is only cruel fate.

heartbreaksurreal poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test11 months ago

    Ouch!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.