Poets logo

Define H O M E

Nothing will ever feel as safe as this sack of bones

By l.e.willsPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Define H O M E
Photo by Charly Pn on Unsplash

I dreamt about you for as long as the mind would let me.

I prayed for your arrival, wept for your warmth, continued to look for you - despite lost efforts.

For awhile, you were always places.

Mountains, that needed climbing.

Gardens, that needed tending.

A river, calling out for a wade.

Then for much longer, you were things.

A large dark crimson brick fireplace, towering pines reaching for their heavens.

The wrap around porch; that aged wooden swing.

You were the train tracks behind the creek, the bridge below that would rattle off music when she finally made her appearance.

A bank overlooking that same creek.

A thin rope connected to one of the small willows growing;

if I was able to hold on make the climb, it was my only way of seeing out.

Finally, you came to me as a feeling of peace; effortless euphoria.

I realized that you were a place I got to create all on my own.

A familiar knowing, an intangible phenomenon erupting from heart center.

It is boundless safety; a priceless treasure, because you're not just four walls.

You’re the breeze coming off of Mount Baldy.

A toothy grin at sunrise over the Uintas.

The lights’ reflecting off the snowy caps of Alyeska.

Each and every valley I’ve ever settled, all cradled between different peaks.

You are a deep sense of security.

And, it all resides at home, in me.

- they are all home, each one, a perfectly placed piece of 'me'

art
1

About the Creator

l.e.wills

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.