Poets logo

Defiantly Color-Blind

Inspired by a school health exam

By Kevin DaleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Holi 2016 in Vrindavan (Photo by Kevin Daley)

The clock was starkly white

With numbers boldly black.

The nurse informed me of my blindness,

It was colors, I lack.

Dubiousness arose,

As I proclaimed with fury,

"This is not a court of law!

Who are you to be my jury?"

Despite protesting my flaw,

The sentence was clear.

A lifetime of deficiency

Consumed my present fears.

I pondered and wondered–

Could this really be?

If my vision is off,

What are these colors I see?

Hued circles hiding numbers

Played tricks upon my eyes.

The nurse had her orders,

But I knew that test was a lie.

The second I left the room,

My thoughts were confirmed.

Soft saffrons and rosy reds

Met my eyes swiftly soon.

As I danced down the hall,

Defiant with each step,

I marveled at the walls,

So happy, I nearly wept.

My vision was still vibrant.

Shades and tints still great.

These results would surely not

Dictate my ocular fate.

My vision may be different

From the standard of others.

But this is my standard,

A vision different from others.

I wonder how it would seem,

To those on that scale,

Perhaps my yellow brick road

Is as blue as a whale.

And by all means,

The pantone would continue.

As my yellow submarine

May be a lively blueish green.

The ocean could shine like the sun

As a cool mellow yellow.

And the sun could glisten like the ocean

As a blue burning flame.

Then I came to the realization–

No one sees color the same.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KDWritten by Kevin Daley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.