Poets logo

Deep darkness

Eligance

By Eliman JengPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I inhaled reality and exhaled a temporary mental vacation, dissecting stress in forms of foreign swaying trees that cooled my skin to the touch on humidity-filled days. This deep darkness that has consumed me lately has taken me out of touch with my physical. Almost remote, heading towards the Twilight Zone. Everything seemed nonsensical. The ominous clouds conveyed omniscient whispers on the path I stood. This darkness swayed my feet like I was hanging on for dear life on a human-sized pendulum. Off balance, dark thoughts pressed into me, revealing my pessimism. Why me?? My mind would obliterate all optimism, dispelling them into my mental wastebasket. A shell of myself, I would await the precipitation to no avail. When it abruptly occurs, I stand frozen, between rain drops, not wet at all. My skin doesn't recall the feeling of being drenched because this darkness has kept me shrouded in its hideous wings of shelter. The warm rays of sunlight are taken for granted as I arise each day with more deep darkness awaking my spirit with an internal alarm clock. When will it end? I couldn't answer this question as I search aimlessly for the light switch.... or the light at the end of the tunnel.

Don't be afraid to show some love with a tip. It will be greatly appreciated. Please continue to read my work as I will be posting more. Thanks!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eliman Jeng

Father, poet. Much more than the keys can type.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.