Poets logo

Dec. 5th - Eaton's Christmas Windows

Poetry Advent Calendar

By Christina BarberPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Dec. 5th - Eaton's Christmas Windows
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

One of my favourite Christmas memories was going down to see the Eaton's windows, with my great-grandmother. I remember taking the old TTC train and that when we passed through the tunnels, that the lights would flicker and sometimes go out. We would walk along Queen Street and look at the animated winter scenes, in the wide Romanesque windows of the Eaton's Annex. I was enchanted by the colours, the lights, and the toys.

*** December 5th***

Eaton’s Christmas Windows

As I held my grandmother’s hand,

we descended underground to

take the train downtown. Snow melting

on coats, lights flickered in tunnels.

***

The subway stops, doors are opened.

As I held my grandmother’s hand,

we descended to the platform,

Queen Street, stairs up to snowy scene.

***

Excitement arises, people

gathering before lit windows.

As I held my grandmother’s hand

we finally push through the crowd.

***

Vibrant lights set the scene, moving

dolls, puppets, trains, telling stories.

Imagination filled my head

as I held my grandmother’s hand.

*** Poem in Quatern form ***

By Ksenia Yakovleva on Unsplash

vintage
1

About the Creator

Christina Barber

Vancouver, Canada

@lille_sol

@canuckreader

Publications:

“Alone in an Empty Room” https://www.thecreativezine.org/issue1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.