Poets logo

Death to me or you?

Sad Poetry

By Lane BurnsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Death to me or you?
Photo by Shoeib Abolhassani on Unsplash

A piece of me died today;

For I grew to believe, I’ve lost you.

I contemplate what I should have said;

When I watched your eyes flow blue.

I lied in bed;

And wondered why I am this way.

My heart and brain are in battle;

As I do not know if I can stay.

I hurt myself with each thought;

Harsher than a long deep cut.

And try to say good-bye;

Even though it was a punch to the gut.

It was never my intentions;

To say good-bye so soon.

But I fear I am no good for you;

As I will only lead you to ruin.

This double edge blade, I have made;

Won’t let me win either way.

If I go, I am in pain;

If I stay, you may never be okay.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Lane Burns

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I’m still just finding my voice and coming to believe that I can do this again. I like writing poetry and darker fiction. As well as some fan fictions!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lane BurnsWritten by Lane Burns

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.