Poets logo

Death Has No Door

Coal mine

By marie381uk Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I am the spirit of an old Coal Miner, yes a Ghost

I can tell you some stories that would frighten most

Let me take you back to the year 1843

I worked down the coal pit my age was just 23

With a couple of kids I was blessed, and a good wife

I can tell you times were not easy we had a hard life

My name in this story just does not matter

I worked long hours to put food on the platter

Deep down I worked the underground

Working where ever Coal was to be found

I worked alongside men and women, girls and boys

It was the kind of hard work, so dirty and it Held no joy

I would come home from work with a dirty blackface

Then chase my wife jokingly all over the place

Saying kiss a coal miner, it will bring you good luck

She would then give in, protesting about all the muck

Then I would spend some time with my boys

I didn’t drink or smoke, they where way my only joys

There were not many good times in the pit it was bad

Just to come home safe to my family made me glad

Relaxing In front of a burning Coal fire with a mug of tea

The old tin bath filled to remove the muck from me

Let me take you back to the day I died

I left for work early it was damp outside

My wife waved me off, and I remember how lovely her smile

For her and my boys, the hard work was all worthwhile

I didn’t know when I left that that would be my last

That’s how it goes, one moment here, life goes so fast

I walked along with my snap tin to the pit gates

Then travel to my place of work with my mates

It was about 10.30 the fireman had gone

Someone fired a shot, for dear life I could not hold on

The blast was so sudden; Its name was labelled Death

I was knocked to the ground, taking with it my breath

I felt no pain as my flesh-burned

Then there was nothing my life gone, never to return

It took six hours to get my charred body out

A mad panic people was rushing about

As the crowds gathered in the pit yard above outside

It came to light that only myself had died

Six days later I was laid to rest back in the ground

This time though there was no Coal to be found

In the grave like the Coal Pits, there is no door

Just to silent sleep forevermore

My wife chucked a Red Rose on top of my coffin

Her face so blank, her expression told nothing

Everyone knew inside her heart was just dying

If she had said it was not true

Then that girl of mine, would have been lying

She whispered wait for me my darling wait

We are parted now only for a while; this is our fate

Soon my darling the day will come to pass

When once more you’ll be mine and me your Lass

After the day she put me in the ground to rest,

I stayed with her, by my spirit she was blessed

She didn’t even know it at the time

My heart only beat for that girl, she was my darling wife

Like many before me now my time had come to go

Leaving behind the family, I love so

So now my spirit walks this Coal Mine forevermore

Trapped in eternity, gone my life. Death Has No Door

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

marie381uk

My Name is Marie, I write mainly poetry

I write subjects that I lean towards. No poetry by me, is related to me in any way unless I state it is. I have loved poetry from being 14 years old. Life is a poem grab a pen a tell your story xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.