Poets logo

Death by Desire

By Maha KadafourPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Like

I lay my eyes on velvety ruby petals

The stampede in my heart gently settles

The symmetry in its magnificent bloom

The intoxicating scent of its perfume

I grasp and grip its sworded stem

I pluck this unforgettable gem

Thorns pierce my gluttonous skin

Blood oozes from within

I strengthen my grip

Drip drip drip

Just a few drops, a trifle of a cost

Better to hold on than have it lost

The rose is mine and mine alone,

To the world, it must remain unknown

Drip drip drip

I tighten my grip

My head feels airy and light

Perhaps it's the euphoric delight

This feeling of utter bliss,

Nothing feels better than this!

I strengthen my grip

Drip drip drip

As sounds become muffled,

My whirling thoughts befuddled

My vision is blurry, I'm losing sight

No! I must hold my precious tight

Drip drip drip

I tighten my grip

As the darkness closes in

And sheets of ice coat my skin

An impending sense of doom

A vision of a decaying tomb

Drip drip drip

I loosen my grip

The rose floats away in a pool of blood

As I crumpled to my demise with a thud

I had only but a thought of regret

If only that rose and I haven't met

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Maha Kadafour

Writing is the expression of my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.