Poets logo

Dear You

Pleading with your demons

By SannaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear You
Photo by Erik Eastman on Unsplash

Dear You

Your body's right here

But your soul's not home

Your demons took over

And won't leave you alone

You gave it to them

All of your power

They went for it

And you cowered

They fed on your fears,

Approached when you were weak

The moment your guard was down

They knew it was time to seek

Now they have control

They're whispering accusations

Making you repeat them back to me

And I cry in frustration

I'm desperate and distraught

Pleading for you to see

That they're deceiving you

Making you turn against me

But logic and reason have no place

My words won't get through

They tell you I'm the enemy

And then you believe it's true

I have to leave you be and wait

Their influence is too strong

And me and your demons

We've never gotten along

I am waiting out this episode

Unsure if it will take hours or days

But soon enough it will be over

And my scars will be all that remains

Hopeful, I enter your room

I wonder if you're back

I call out to you

But your demons attack

I know you're in there somewhere

This is my desperate plea

I am always on your side

Open your eyes and you will see

With warmest regards

Awaiting this episode's end

Yours faithfully and sincerely

A heartbroken friend

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sanna

I write, I drink coffee, I go on adventures and then write some more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.