Poets logo

Dear Rome...

A love letter to a city that was all too temporarily my home.

By Susanna KiernanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
11
Dear Rome...
Photo by Carlos Ibáñez on Unsplash

Dear Rome,

For a while there you were my home.

You, with your fallen pillars

Scattered round the winding streets.

Italians have always been the same you see,

Nothings ever fixed even when your citizens plea.

From the days of Nero till the modern age.

You are riddled with errors like a handwritten page.

You, with your starlings –

Italia’s version of the northern lights –

Dancing like smoke in their flight,

Black as the souls of the emperors that once ruled.

Yes, Rome, for a few months you were my home.

I lived on your hill – The Aventine –

Right beside the park of clementines.

Green and orange and golden views.

My soul to you I will always lose.

The Circo Massimo, the Colleseo, the Palatine,

These marked the streets that lead to mine.

When I say I lived in Rome,

I mean the heart centre was my home.

Allora, Allora.

I lived off Carciofi alla Giudia.

I lived off limoncello drunk friends.

I lived off sundays lounging in Villa Borghese.

I lived off strolls down the Tiber that lead to Trastevere.

I became a part of the orange painted stone laden with vines.

I became one with the driftwood pines

Endlessly reaching to the heavens

Pleading with the gods for their attention.

Does Jupiter still watch over you, dear Rome?

Jupiter didn’t watch over me.

The fire of Rome no longer burns,

And as such I was bidden no return.

I stand in exile still dreaming of your

Starlings – singing, swirling – in the lilac sky.

Dear Rome, come stai?

Sincerely,

A Homeless Wanderer

vintage
11

About the Creator

Susanna Kiernan

20-something English nomad trying to write some things.

Often whimsical. Sometimes dark. Always fantastical.

| Curtis Brown Creative alumni | Arts Council England funded |

You can find more of me across the internet here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Very beautiful poem.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    I enjoyed your rhyme scheme and the cleverness of all your “imperfect” rhyme choices. But rest assured they sounded and felt perfect to me! I can tell you chose your words carefully and took great care with this poem! It was magical and breath taking! Great work Susanna! 💜

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Oh wow, I feel the yearning for a place, trapped in time, so deeply. It made me think of my own types of Rome. Really beautiful poem.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness, you have such a way with words! I’ve never been to Rome, yet reading this made me remember it.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was so good! I loved the descriptions. This is one of the best I’ve read so far.

  • A great take on the challenge with your letter to Rome

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.