Poets logo

Dear Reader...

the apology letter you didn't know you needed.

By Alexis RobersonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Dear Reader...
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

I'm sorry it was made to believe that you could find love within that person and that you thought they were the embodiment of fairytale feelings.

I'm sorry it was made to believe that their words were full of action; but seemed to all fall between cracks of empty promises and unfulfillment.

I'm sorry that your body of fresh water became tainted with the saltiness of kisses from multiple people thinking it was only coming from one.

I'm sorry you had to spend nights crying and wandering what you could've done better ... what you could've done to keep them more interested while being left obliterated.

But, most of all ...

I'm sorry that you're just now reading these words

Now that you're here, I want you to listen to them

Feel them

Nothing could've been done because it was suppose to happen this way.

You were suppose to be broken, shattered even

Only to find the place you were truly meant to be.

And that's right here

Right now

On these pages

In a place that has been within yourself all along.

Sincerely,

@poetrybyalexisr

slam poetrysad poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Alexis Roberson

I may be young but I have experienced a lot pain, happiness, and growth. This is my safe place that I am welcoming you in, hop on and enjoy the ride (:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.