Poets logo

Dear Patience

Where Are You?

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
51
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

Dear Patience,

Where did you go?

I looked for you earlier, but you were gone away.

You were here on Thursday when we were watching the game and she kept forgetting that our team scored. You were right by my side when she cheered again and offered yet another high-five, which you happily accepted.

You were here yesterday when she forgot her sister’s name, and you hugged me later when she didn’t realize that the man we were talking about was her son. She forgot his name too, for a moment. You were fine with that. You patted me on the back and whispered, “it’s okay, she’ll remember.”

I was grateful to you then. I’m not sure if you could tell, but I was about to cry. It was your presence that calmed me, your warm embrace that allowed me to believe that I would get through. As heartbreaking as it was, you told me it would be all right. And it was.

I want you to know how much I appreciate you in those moments. Your soothing presence, your warm embrace, your calming words; they mean the world to me. They keep me grounded. They give me peace.

It’s in those moments that you’re my most trusted ally.

But why do you sometimes desert me?

Where were you last night when it was near midnight, and I couldn’t get her into bed because she had to fold down and pull up and fold down her sheets again twenty times?

She could sense my frustration.

When she told me “Go to hell if you don’t want to help me,” you were nowhere to be seen. I guess you’d already tucked yourself in for the night because it wasn’t your voice I heard in that moment. It was my own, and I yelled back at her.

Where were you this morning? When again, my frustration got the better of me, you pulled your disappearing act. Once more, I lost control and yelled at her.

You’re supposed to be my buffer, Patience. You’re meant to be my filter, not just for my sake, but for hers as well. Mostly though, you’re supposed to be my best friend.

So, why do you run when I need you most?

Don’t you see that when you choose flight, I choose fight?

Can’t you hear that when you stay silent, I scream?

When you hide in the corner smirking, I’m cowering in the spotlight blinded by tears. When you claim innocence, because, as you say, you weren’t even there; I’m standing front and centre, wracked by guilt.

Do you even care, Patience?

Oh sure, you always come back - when it’s too late. You’ll show up with your garden hose when the house has already burned to ash.

“For the embers,” you’ll say.

Well guess what, Patience?

There wouldn’t be any embers if you’d help me prevent the fire in the first place.

Your anti-venom wouldn’t be required if the biting words of my anger were never allowed out of their cage.

I wouldn’t need your defibrillator if my heart weren’t crushed under the weight of my own guilt.

All I need is for you to be here with me, to cover me, to shield me as I struggle through this battle. A battle not of my own making, not of her making either, but a battle with the cruelest of diseases that doesn’t give a damn about any of us.

Don’t you get it, Patience?

You’re supposed to be my trusted ally, yet sometimes you act like my greatest adversary. I thought you were my loyal protector, yet often you’re a spineless coward.

I’m sorry to tell you this, my fickle friend, but quite frankly, I’m running out of patience with you.

Painfully yours,

A. Caregiver

heartbreaksad poetryfact or fiction
51

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Well, that certainly sounds like it comes from heavy experience. My condolences Cathy!

  • Kt12 months ago

    aw! This struck me like lightning. I took on my mother with dementia and I felt guilt and frustration daily. So incedibly heartbreaking

  • Great writing!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    So good Cathy. Caregivers take on so much I don’t know how they keep their patience

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Cathy, this piece is so beautifully honest, raw and real. I only understand the role of caregiver on a small scale with my grandmother, and I watched my mom do it first hand for years. It is absolutely one of the most challenging jobs in the world. So much respect for you- it takes a big heart to fulfill that role.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Wow, Cathy this is *brutal* in such a devastatingly beautiful sense. As A. Nother Caregiver (for a disabled sibling), I find your depiction and description to be hauntingly accurate. Honesty is the ingredient that makes this piece so beautiful. Thank you for your bravery in sharing this with us.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    This is truth revealed. Congratulations 🥰

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    You are doing the hardest work here, Cathy. And thank you for making this public for all the caregivers

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Heartfelt and relatable

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I'm literally reading a book about patience right now. It is something that can be friend or foe. It takes work to be patient. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • A. Lenaeabout a year ago

    This is beautiful, so important, and validating. Congratulations!

  • Congratulations 🎉 🎉💖✨👣🎉

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations Cathy. I keep saying your last story was my favourite. You keep on getting better which is hard to do. This one was absolutely beautiful.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Raw, sad and heartfelt, another excellent piece, well done!

  • Serenity Nyxabout a year ago

    I love how beautiful and ugly the resonation in this is, a battle many humans face. A great perspective, a great reminder.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Excellent work!! Congratulations 🎉 on top story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! I'm so happy this is getting the recognition it deserves :)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story well done

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    The writing is exceptional, so honest and forthcoming. So many great lines but I particularly loved ‘Your anti-venom wouldn’t be required if the biting words of my anger were never allowed out of their cage’ ❤️

  • This made me cry, it was so emotional and relatable. I loved these lines very much: Don’t you see that when you choose flight, I choose fight? Can’t you hear that when you stay silent, I scream? You did a fantastic job on this!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Man, this is spot on

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Oh, Cathy, how true. So moving! I loved so many lines, but this one is my favourite: 'I wouldn’t need your defibrillator if my heart weren’t crushed under the weight of my own guilt.' Fantastic! 💕😊

  • I loved this. My favourite one I've read today.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent writing. You have highlighted not only your own truth but the truth of countless others dealing with this impossible situation. A difficult read for me for obvious reasons but I love the courage you displayed to write it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.