Poets logo

Dear Pain

A letter of eviction

By Heidi McCloskeyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Dear Pain
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Dear Pain,

You have overstayed your welcome.

It’s time for you to go.

Nothing more than a nuisance.

Sabotaging my existence

With your dictation of my limitations.

Like a thief, you have stolen so much from me.

Anger and frustration surface

I wince and I curse.

Pleading for your presence to stop

Oh, but you are relentlessly faithful.

I cannot remember a day you weren’t here.

Constantly nagging with your lack of compassion.

I have wallowed so many times in the depths of your despair.

Desperately trying to be free of your burden.

I have trudged through the heaviness of your existence in my world.

My only consolation being that I am still able to trudge at all.

So, with this letter

I bid you farewell.

To finally end this relationship

And rediscover happiness as we go our separate ways.

If only it were that easy.

Sincerely,

Your Unwilling Companion

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Heidi McCloskey

I have internally decided that I am a writer. Since that decision was made, the voice in my head has changed. It’s become louder as it begs to be released.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Surely this perfectly captures chronic pain 😫

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    😩oof! I loved/hated the weird uncomfortable feeling I got when you described pain as “relentlessly faithful”, this whole poem just perfectly presents as a terrible relationship. So well done!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    🙌😊 Absolutely. Cool message!

  • Valentina Savage12 months ago

    well written! I would be very happy if you go read one of my poems

  • Serenity Nyxabout a year ago

    Preach!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.