Poets logo

Dear My Mom

A song of gratitude

By Gregory T. PaschalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My mom

(VERSE)

Dear my mom,

I want to thank you so I wrote this song.

The list of things i'm grateful for goes on and on...

so please read along.

I harbor joy.

And I thank you for me being born a boy.

For all my Power Ranger and cool Turtle toys.

And of course, dealing with my noise.

(CHORUS)

Thank you for teaching me to ride a bike and eat.

How to talk and how to stand on my own feet.

Thank you for being there for me when I would cry,

but I wish you taught me how to say goodbye.

I wish you taught me how to say goodbye.

(VERSE)

Dear my mom,

I'm grateful you taught me how to be strong.

And how to own up whenever I am wrong.

I hope there where you are you hear this song...

oh, how I wish you weren't gone.

Still, I'm doing fine.

Thank you for giving me all of your time.

For dealing with me even when i'd whine...

and for this life of mine.

(CHORUS)

Thank you for teaching me to practice what I preach.

For the wisdom to set goals that I can reach.

Thank you for teaching me that I should never lie,

but I wish you taught me how to say goodbye.

Dear my mom,

I love and miss you

goodbye.

-GP

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gregory T. Paschal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.