Poets logo

Dear, Moon

“Hey Moon, please forget to fall down. Hey Moon, don't you go down.”

By Will Helgren/OchalPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
"Solar" [2022]

Dear, Moon, I went back to the parking spot last week to see if the sky was any clearer this time. Every time I drive by I see you being formed in the constellations, only to realize that you weren’t a star, but a comet passing by. We grazed hands and at long-last, a probe wasn’t landed; I can’t say that much for you from before.

Dear Moon, I know that I cannot say anything, and that I really shouldn’t, but it’s so hard when others question.

Dear, Moon, I wish I could return to that night with you. I wish I could return to that hill with you. I wish I could’ve brought another blanket to keep us warmer. I wish we could’ve stayed at the top without being bothered. I wish we wouldn’t have had to drive so far just to park in that lot. I wish we could’ve stayed longer. I wish I would’ve been stronger. I wish I could’ve done something different. I wish I could’ve worked up the courage.

Dear Moon, I wish upon this shooting star that maybe, a new light will come back.

I wish, I wish I could go back.

Dear, Moon, those four short weeks of separation did nothing to quell a fleeting fancy.

Did I really expect anything different from myself?

No. No, I didn’t do anything different and I couldn’t have done anything different. That’s the whole point; I couldn’t have been any different and you couldn’t have been any different. In that exact instant we both were perfect, but not perfect enough.

Dear Moon, I know that we can continue on like nothing has changed, but I don’t want to. I don’t want to forget my stupidity and your rigidity.

You should never be forced to crash, but for this long night, tonight,

you

are

hidden

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Will Helgren/Ochal

I am an independant poet, artist, and musician who enjoys making things regardless of if people find my stuff but I love it when people do :)

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.