Poets logo

Dear Mommy

I need to share this with you

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Dear Mommy
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

When I fall, you tell me to get back up again.

Even when I cry, it hurts so much pain.

I try my best to be strong,

But when you yell at me, I feel like I am so wrong,

I am not that big, but I am smart.

When you dont listen to me, it breaks my heart,

You have so many reasons not to like.

Even yourself that is so not right,

Mommy, you mean everything to me,

I just needed to write this letter so that you could see,

How important you are to yourself and me,

I want you to look in the mirror and know who you are.

Right now, I feel like you are so distant and far,

When I used to fall or cut my knee,

You used to hug and care for me.

Now anger and hate have taken over you.

It's not your fault, but what others have done too.

When I was tiny, you read a book to me.

Teaching me about equality.

How it is important to love and care.

Just be yourself and never compare.

So in this letter, I am writing you today.

I want you to change things uniquely.

First, by finding all the good in you.

Stop trying to be a perfectionist in everything you do.

Just be yourself, my most beautiful mom.

I love you dearly; thank you for letting me be your son.

Love You, Forever and a day.

Your son Jay

xoxoxo

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Cathy ~ I'm so glad that your 'Knee' is back to kicking-it-up! Every 'Soul' can relate to this marvelous piece! - Vocal Author Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Beautiful 💖📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.