Poets logo

Dear Momma

#VocalNPM

By Alexander RiosPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Dear momma, my angel watching us from above.

Not a day goes by where I don't feel you sending us your love.

Not a day goes by where I look at my daughter and I don't see your face.

Not a day goes by where I didn't think about what it was like being in your place.

Single mother, you were sick with two daughters, how hard it must've been.

What a hand dealt, but you still found strength from deep down within.

You cared for and loved us even on days we made you mad.

You held it together and stayed strong on the days that you felt really sad.

Now you're gone, and I spent my life trying to make you proud.

Praying to you every night, do you hear me? Because if not I'll pray extra loud.

Do you see me? Because if not I'll do it over and over again.

If you do, send me a message send me a sign, that's all for now, I love you momma, dios te bendiga and amen.

Dear daughter, it's your momma, your angel, yes I'm watching you from above.

Every day I watch you grow, and every day I send you my love.

I see my granddaughter she's getting bigger and bigger so cherish these moments and all the moments to come.

Make sure she knows who I am and make sure to give her all my love.

I want to thank you for watching over your sister, you have no idea what that means.

Even when she was fucking up and yall fought, you never gave up and kept her part of your team.

Even though you had to grow up fast, through the hard times, you always kept a smile on your face.

You were someone I never worried about because I knew you'd always be safe.

Now you have a family of your own, and I want you to know I could never be more proud.

And know I'll always watch over you guys that's one thing that I can truly vow.

And know that I love you guys, and given the chance, I'd do it all over again.

But for now, keep doing what you're doing, I love you my daughter, dios te bendiga and amen.

Dear baby girl, it's your mom, I want to talk to you about your guardian angel.

Her name is Carmen, she's your grandmother, know she'll always steer you away from danger.

Know she loves you and wishes she can be here to hold you in her arms.

At times you look like her, and I hope that you grow up with her charm.

She was kind, smart, respectful, but didn't stand for no one's shit.

Her personality so bright I'd like to think now she's the brightest star keeping the night time lit.

I pray you gain her strength, to get through everything to come in your life.

And pray you gain her wisdom and all her other amazing traits alike.

I pray you carry a piece of her every day in your heart.

And pray that your love for her never departs.

I know you're still young to understand this, but when you're older, I'll tell you about her over and over again.

But for now, know that your grandmother and I love you baby girl, dios te bendiga and amen.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Rios

Instagram- @riosa641

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.