Poets logo

Dear Me

(Please Open In Ten Years)

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dear Me
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I'm writing you this letter as I have so much to say

I hope you have accomplished a lot every single day.

Your legacy of publishing several new books.

I hope you're feeling young, exercising and keeping up with your looks.

Remember what we said, how every day is a new blessing to all.

Ten years later, I hope you have had a ball.

Did you take lots of photos to share with family and friends?

How about travelling? Did you see where the ocean bends?

I hope you stayed positive and did fun things.

You're going out, dancing, and having fun eating your chicken wings.

How about Bill, did you make it to the mountain top?

Did you go skydiving or get arrested by a cop?

You always had a great sense of humour and enjoyed a good joke.

I hope you gave up your nasty habit and quit the smoke.

So why did I write this letter to you ten years ago?

I knew we could do it; now we have something to show.

So I am writing a letter for five more years or so.

Looking forward to reading it then; for now, I have to go.

Love you forever,

Your Best Friend

By Siora Photography on Unsplash

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy Deslippe (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you Jay

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Ms. 'C' - I could never wait even (10) minutes to open your 'Vocal Community' Letters - With Pleasure! Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.