Poets logo

Dear Madam

Not All Birds Are the Same

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Dear Madam
Photo by Dominik Lange on Unsplash

I believe that setting the scene for this poem would be beneficial before you read.

After my marriage had a less than perfect ending, I recently started dating again, painfully in my late 30s. I've discovered that a lot of the women I've met have lost faith in the existence of nice, honest guys. We do in fact still exist.

The difference is that I choose not to share their contempt for partnerships, despite the fact that I think I have every cause to. While their feelings are undoubtedly valid, I hope my poem speaks to them directly.

True love takes time. True love blossoms. True love demands perseverance. And most importantly, true love requires two people who are committed to working on it constantly.

I am by no means a relationship expert. I am just a person sharing their opinion, so take that for what it’s worth and I will end with this:

Don't sell yourself short. Find someone deserving of you and all that you are. They are still out there waiting to be given a chance.

Thanks for reading. Now without further ado.

Dear Madam,

Reject chirps that come with the sun.

If they cannot take your worst days,

you must give them none.

There are some who will try to take pieces and run,

Selfishly, after spewing lies at your feet.

Dear madam, don’t mourn the dishonest,

the disloyal whom always flee

Instead, watch them take flight with the birds

Searching for warmth just to return

Perching near you

As if, you had forgotten their words

Hindering your search much like a curse

Dear madam, you must trek on

And here is the key, so that one day,

you may find your someone

Listen for chirps when life is dark

that's where you start

allowing the heart to see

without need for the sun.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.