Poets logo

Dear Love

An "ode" to requited love

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished 9 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Dear Love
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

Is it my turn to wish you were lying here?

I tend to dream you when I'm not sleeping.

Is it my turn to fictionalize my world?

Or even imagine your emotions, tell myself anything.

Is it my turn to hold you by your hands?

Tell you I love you and you not hear me.

Is it my turn to totally understand?

To watch you walk out out of my life and not do a damn thing- P.M. Dawn

When you know who you love.

Feelings hit you out the blue.-

Out of all the loves I had,

you were the only one,

that was true.-

Planted seeds of devotion.-

that grew into my heart;

sparking flowers of emotion,

I felt it from the start.-

I poured into you.

and you drank onto me.

No one will understand,

How your love,

changed me.

The feelings that grew inside;

The affect was so profound.-

The love you showed me wasn't quiet;

it was loud.

You covered me with your arms;

allowed me to be me.-

You shielded me from harm,

You always protected me.-

Built me up when things looked grim.

And in the process,

I toughened up.-

Looked me deep in my eyes,

And reassured,

I was enough.-

Sat me down one day,

and while holding my hand,

Told me you believed in my dreams,

and included me in your plan.

You didn't care about the gossip,

the rumors,

or the lies.-

You saw what others could not see.

You saw hurt in my eyes.-

Made a promise to love me forever.

Had me up all night; -

could not believe,

we were in sync.

This feeling felt so right.-

You stuck with me,

through thick and thin.

Showed me things I did not know.-

No one will ever take your place.

I'll never let you go. -AK

love poems
1

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.